APPMA Awards of Excellence, scholarship winners, revealed! Industry shines at gala night


The industry’s top achievers were announced last night (Wednesday, 27 March) in the Australian Packaging and Processing Machinery Association (APPMA) Awards of Excellence. The recipient of the 10th APPMA Annual Scholarship was also revealed.

APPMA Chairman Mark Dingley said, “Our event tonight was a showcase of sustainability. The innovations and dedication highlighted at this Gala Award Ceremony show that the entire Australian packaging and processing industry has a viable, sustainable long-term future.”

In front of a packed room of over 400 people, winners were announced for each of the five categories:

Best New Product Award

Foodmach for the GEA Vipoll ALL IN ONE Filler

Sponsor: All Purpose Pumps

Customer Collaboration Award

Foodmach for Dulux Merrifield – Foodmach Turnkey Filling Lines

Proseal Australia – Commonwealth Collaboration Reducing the Plastic in Packaging

Sponsor: Pecom India Limited

Design Innovation Award

HMPS for the Compact Frame
Sponsor: Ekato

Export Success Award
HMPS for the Robotic Unloading Cell
Sponsor: Advanced Label & Paper Products

Imported Equipment Award

Foodmach for the GEA Vipoll ALL IN ONE Filler
Sponsor: Anderson Wholesale Packaging

Mr Dingley said, “Congratulations to both Foodmach and HMPS. This is a great result for both businesses and to win multiple awards like this is a wonderful testament to your efforts.

“On behalf of the APPMA board, I commend every business that submitted an entry. By looking to improve your own businesses, you are continuing to improve and advance our industry as a whole. Thank you for your dedication.

“We also announced the winner of the 10th APPMA Annual Scholarship. Valued at $9,000, it gives one lucky person entry into the Diploma in Packaging Technology, an internationally recognised Level 5 qualification offered exclusively through the Australian Institute of Packaging, Australasia’s peak professional body for packaging education and training.

“The 2019 APPMA Scholarship finalists are: Brittany Puyol, Product & Packaging Designer at Edlyn Foods; and Janell Siek, Packaging Technologist, and Karunia Adhiputra, Packaging Technologist – Technical & Production, both with Nestlé Australia.

“And the 2019 APPMA Scholarship winner is Janell Siek!

“Janell views packaging as perhaps the hardest-working component of any retail product. She believes it has a profound impact in a product’s lifecycle, and, being a very visible part of the waste problem, hopes to build her packaging foundations so she can better innovate and problem solve. Janell, who holds a Bachelor of Science in Food Technology, believes the Diploma in Packaging Technology will lead to opportunities to be part of bigger projects and advance her career towards a Senior Packaging Technologist and becoming a Certified Packaging Professional.

“We congratulate Janell on her continued persistence in learning and professional development, and on winning the 2019 APPMA Annual Scholarship.”

Mr Dingley said, “The APPMA board and I would like to show our gratitude to our sponsors. So a very hearty thankyou to SMC for sponsoring the Gala Awards Ceremony and to each of the individual award sponsors.

“This is a fantastic night of networking, and celebrating innovation and our industry in general.”

The Award Ceremony was held in the Sovereign Room at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre. The night was hosted by Peter Rowsthorn.

The APPMA Awards of Excellence were held alongside AUSPACK 2019 and as part of Packaging and Processing Week. AUSPACK 2019 is being held at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, until 29 March 2019. Please visit for more information.